American Jewish Historical Society

Donate Today Like Find us on facebook Twitter Google Plus Flickr


American Jewish Historical Society celebrating more than three centuries of Jewish life in the Americas

Sanford I. Weill to Receive Emma Lazarus Award

Sanford I. Weill

Sanford I. Weill, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Citigroup, Inc., will receive the Society's prestigious Emma Lazarus Statue of Liberty Award.

Mr. Weill will be presented with the award at the Society's annual dinner on June 5 at New York's Plaza Hotel. Governor George E. Pataki, Arthur Levitt, Jr. and Isaac Stern will offer tributes to Mr. Weill, whose impressive career and commitment to educational and cultural life have made him one of the most recognized figures in the world of business and philanthropy.

“Sanford Weill's commitments to philanthropy and Jewish charity equal his success in and commitment to the world of business,” says Jerry I. Speyer, Chairman of this year's annual dinner and President of Tishman Speyer Properties.

In addition to his acts of philanthropy, Sanford Weill is among the nation's most highly respected business leaders. Before being named Chairman and CEO of Citigroup, Mr. Weill was chairman of Travelers Insurance Company before its merger with Citigroup. He has also served as President of the American Express Company and Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of its Fireman's Fund Insurance Company subsidiary.

Jerry I. Speyer, AJHS Dinner Chair

In 1960, Mr. Weill and three partners founded Carter, Berlind, Potoma and Weill, the predecessor of Shearson, Loeb & Rhodes, which was acquired by American Express. From 1965 to 1984, he served as chairman of American Express, a period in which the company completed 15 acquisitions. In 1993, when Travelers Group acquired Shearson Lehman Brothers' retail brokerage and asset management businesses, Mr. Weill was reunited with the firm he had founded.

He sits on the Board of Directors of many organizations, including AT&T, DuPont, and the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra. Currently, he serves as Chairman of the Board of Trustees of Carnegie Hall. Mr. Weill is also Chairman of the Board of Overseers for the Joan and Sanford I. Weill Medical College and Graduate School of Medical Sciences of Cornell University. In appreciation of their support, Cornell named the medical college after the Weills in April 1998.

Mr. Weill continues to serve Cornell – his alma mater – as a Trustee Emeritus and also on the Advisory Council of the University's Johnson Graduate School of Management. In addition, Mr. Weill is a Trustee of New York Presbyterian Hospital, a Governor of New York Presbyterian Healthcare System, and an overseer of Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center. He is a Vice Chairman of The Business Council and The Business Roundtable. He also served on the Working Group on Child Care, headed by former U.S. Secretary of the Treasury Robert Rubin.

Mr. Weill was the 1997 recipient of the Governor's Arts Award by New York State.

As a friend to and proponent of education, he instituted a joint program with the New York City Board of Education in 1980 that created the Academy of Finance that trains high school students for careers in financial services. He serves as Chairman of the National Academy Foundation that oversees more than 200 academies that operate across the country, and is the principal sponsor of New York City's High School of Economics and Finance.

Mr. Weill and his wife, Joan, have two children and four grandchildren.

The American Jewish Historical Society is privileged to honor Sanford Weill with its prestigious Emma Lazarus Statue of Liberty Award. Previous recipients of the Award have included Edgar M. Bronfman, Abram L. Sachar, Aaron Feuerstein, Beverly Sills and Dr. Henry A. Kissinger

PreviousPage 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7
    Center for Jewish History

    15 West 16th St.
    New York, NY 10011
    Tel: 212-294-6160
    Fax: 212-294-6161

    99-101 Newbury Street
    Boston, MA 02116-3062
    Tel: 617-226-1245
    Fax: 617-226-1248
This section was last updated on August 19, 2014
Copyright © 1997-2014 American Jewish Historical Society, All rights reserved
Jewish Major Leaguers 2014


Price: $39