American Jewish Historical Society

Donate Today Like Find us on facebook Twitter Google Plus Flickr

Alphabetical List of Speakers and their Topics

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
Jeanne Abrams
Professor and Director, Beck Archives and Rocky Mountain Jewish Historical Society
University of Denver
2000 E. Asbury
Sturm Hall, Suite #157
Denver, CO 80208
Phone: (303) 871-3016 Fax: (303) 871-3037
Email: jabrams@du.edu

Lecture Topics:
Michael Alexander
Assoc. Professor, Religous Studies
University of California
3038 CHASS INT NORTH
Riverside, CA 92521
Phone: (951) 827-3744
Email: michael.alexander@ucr.edu

Primary Topics:
Other Topics:
Joyce Antler
Samuel Lane Professor of American Jewish Culture and History
Brandeis University
Dept of American Studies, MS 005
Waltham, MA 02454
Phone: 781-736-3036 Fax: 781-736-3040
Email: antler@brandeis.edu

Lecture Topics:
Gulie Ne'eman Arad
Ben Gurion University of the Negev
Department of Jewish History
P.O. Box 653
Beer Sheva 84105, Israel
Tel: 972-3-5443365 Fax: 972-3-5446010
Email: garad@bgu.ac.il

Lecture Topics:
Yaakov Ariel
Professor of Religious Studies, UNC
Department of Religious Studies
University of North Carolina
Chapel Hill, NC, 27599-3225
Phone: 919-962-3930 Fax: 919-962-1567
Email: yariel@email.unc.edu

Lecture Topics:
Samantha Baskind
Professor of Art History, Cleveland State University
Cleveland State University
Art Department
1901 East 13th Street
Cleveland, OH 44114
Tel: 216-297-9097 (h), 216-687-2096 (o) Fax: 216-687-2275
Email: s.baskind@csuohio.edu

Lecture Topics:
Mark K. Bauman
Atlanta Metropolitan College (retired); Editor, Southern Jewish History
2517 Hartford Drive
Ellenwood, GA 30294
Phone: (404) 366-3306; (678) 428-3622
Email: markkbauman@aol.com

Primary Topics:
Aviva Ben-Ur
Department of Judaic and Near Eastern Studies
161 Presidents Drive
University of Massachusetts-Amherst
Amherst, MA 01003-9312
Phone: 413-577-0649 (no voice mail) Fax: 413-545-5876
Email: aben-ur@judnea.umass.edu

Lecture Topics:
Dr. Alan L. Berger
Raddock Family Eminent Scholar Chair for Holocaust Studies
Florida Atlantic University
777 Glades Rd.
Boca Raton, FL. 33434
Phone: 561-297-2979 Fax: 561-297-2199
Website: http://www.duplain.com/alan_berger/

Lecture Topics:
Henry Bial
Chair, Department of American Studies, University of Kansas
Department of American Studies
University of Kansas
1440 Jayhawk Blvd, Room 213
Lawrence, KS 66045
Phone: (785) 864-4011 Fax: (785) 864-5772
Email: hbial@ku.edu

Lecture Topics:
Menahem Blondheim
Prof., Dept. of History, and Head, Dept. of Communication, The Hebrew University of Jerusalem
Dept. of History, The Hebrew University of Jerusalem
Mt. Scopus, Jerusalem, 91905
Tel: (+)972 2 5883046
Email: mblond@huji.ac.il

Lecture Topics:
Linda J. Borish
Associate Professor of History and Gender/Women's Studies Program
Department of History, Western Michigan University
1903 W. Michigan Ave.
Department of History, MS 5334
Western Michigan University
Kalamazoo, MI 49008-5334
Phone: 269-387-4061 (work); 269-491-8083 (cell) Fax: 269-387-4651
Email: linda.borish@wmich.edu

Lecture Topics:
Joseph Brandes
Professor of History Emeritus
William Paterson University of New Jersey
16-36 Raymond Street
Fair Lawn, NJ 07410-1908
Phone: 201-796-1218
Email: MARJOE26@JUNO.COM

Primary Topics:
Other Topics:
Tobias Brinkmann
Malvin and Lea Bank Associate Professor of Jewish Studies and History
Department of History & Religious Studies
Penn State University
108 Weaver Building (office 412)
University Park, PA 16802
Phone: 814-865-4690 Fax: 814-863-7840
Email: thb10@psu.edu

Lecture Topics:
Phil Brown
Professor of Sociology and Environmental Studies, Brown University
Brown University, Box 1916
Providence, RI 02912
Phone: 401-863-2633 Fax: 401-863-2367
Email: phil_brown@brown.edu

Primary Topics:
Kimmy R. Caplan
Professor of Modern Jewish History
Department of Jewish History
Bar-Ilan University
Ramat-Gan 52900
Israel
Phone: 972-2-(02)-679-5815 Fax: 972-3-(03)-534-6467
Email: kimmyc@vanleer.org.il

Primary Topics:
Jerome Chanes
Adjunct Faculties: Barnard College, Stern College, Wurzweiller School of Social Work at Yeshiva University
Senior Consultant to the National Foundation for Jewish Culture, New York, NY
60 Riverside Drive, Apt. 11G
New York, NY 10024
Phone: 917-363-6127 Fax: 212-877-9054
Email: jchanes@jewishculture.org

Primary Topics: Other Topics:
Beth B. Cohen
Gold/Weinstein Visiting Professor of Holocaust History, Chapman University
1725 S. Wooster St.
Los Angeles, CA 90035
Tel: 310-721-8026 (cell), 310-559-1466
Email: bcohen@chapman.edu, sjcbbc@aol.com (preferred)

Lecture Topics:
Hasia Diner
Paul S. and Sylvia Steinberg Professor of American Jewish History, New York University
Department of History
53 Washington Square South
New York University
New York, NY 10012
Tel: 212-614-8853 Fax: 212-995-4178
Email: hrd1@nyu.edu

Lecture Topics:
Marc Dollinger
Goldman Chair in Jewish Studies and Social Responsibility, San Francisco State University
1600 Holloway Ave.
San Francisco, CA 94132
Tel: (415) 497-0100 Fax: (415) 747-8011
Email: mdolling@sfsu.edu

Lecture Topics:
Jay M. Eidelman
Historian
Museum of Jewish Heritage: A Living Memorial to the Holocaust
36 Battery Place
Battery Park City
New York, NY 10280
Phone: 212-968-1800 x161 Fax: 212-968-1368
Email: jeidelman@mjhnyc.org

Primary Topics:
Other Topics:
Ellen Eisenberg
Dwight & Margaret Lear Professor of American History, Willamette University
900 State St.
Salem, OR 97301
Tel: 503-370-6197 Fax: 503-370-6944
Email: eeisenbe@willamette.edu

Lecture Topics:
Eli Faber
Professor of History. Editor, American Jewish History (Quarterly Journal of the AJHS)
John Jay College of Criminal Justice of the City University of New York (CUNY)
445 West 59th St.
North Hall Room 4317
New York, NY 10019
Phone: 212-237-8627
Email: efaber@jjay.cuny.edu

Primary Topics:
Other Topics:
Henry L. Feingold
Professor Emeritus, CUNY
Baruch College, Graduate Center, CUNY
280 Ninth Avenue, Apt. 11F
New York, NY 10001
Phone: 212-242-4494
Email: Hfeingold@earthlink.net

Lecture Topics:
Allon Gal
Professor, American Jewish History, Zionism, and Israel
Director, Center for North American Jewry
Ben Gurion University of the Negev
P.O. Box 653
Be'er Sheva 84105
Israel
Phone: 011-972-07-646-1052 Fax: 011-972-07-647-7664
Email: agal@bgumail.bgu.ac.il

Primary Topics:
Other Topics:
Joel Gereboff
Associate Professor and Faculty Head, Religious Studies
School of Historical, Philosophical and Religious Studies
Arizona State University
Tempe, AZ 85287-4302
Phone: 480-965-7738 Fax: 480-965-0310
Email: Joel.Gereboff@asu.edu

Lecture Topics:
Susan A. Glenn
Howard & Frances Keller Endowed Professor in History, University of Washington
Department of History
Box 353560
University of Washington
Seattle, WA 98195
Phone: 206-543-9429
Email: glenns@u.washington.edu

Lecture Topics:
Shalom Goldman
Professor of Hebrew and Middle Eastern Studies
Emory University
S-307 Callaway Center
537 Kilgo Circle
Atlanta, GA 30322
Phone: 404-727-2694 Fax: 404-727-2133
Email: slgoldm@emory.edu

Primary Topics:
Eric L. Goldstein
Associate Professor, History and Jewish Studies
Emory University
221 Bowden Hall
561 South Kilgo Circle
Atlanta, GA 30322-3651
Phone: 404-727-6555 Fax: 404-727-4959
Email: egoldst@emory.edu

Primary Topics:
Other Topics:
Henry Green
Professor, University of Miami (Florida)
P.O. Box 248645
Coral Gables, FL 33124
Phone: 305-284-4375 Fax: 305-284-2772
Email: hgreen@miami.edu

Lecture Topics:
Gershon Greenberg
Professor of Philosophy and Religion
Department of Philosophy and Religion, American University
Washington, D.C. 20016
Phone: 202-885-2912 Fax: 202-885-1094
Email: Greenbe@american.edu

Lecture Topics:
Daniel Greene
Vice President for Research and Academic Programs, Newberry Library
60 West Walton Street
Chicago, IL 60610
Phone: 312-255-3535
Email: greened@newberry.org

Lecture Topics:
Jeffrey S. Gurock
Libby M. Klaperman Professor of American Jewish History, Yeshiva University
408 West 260th Street
Bronx, NY 10471
Phone: 718-884-3819 Fax: 718-601-1968
Email: gurock@yu.edu

Lecture Topics:
Leo Hershkowitz
Professor of History
Queens College of the City University of New York (CUNY)
146 Moore Avenue
Freeport, NY 11520
Phone: 516-868-2753 or 718-997-5378 Fax: 516-741-9178
Email: mbergerher@aol.com

Primary Topics:
Adam Howard
Chief of the Middle East and Asia Division, Office of the Historian, U.S. Department of State
L-409
2401 E Street, NW
Washington, DC 20522
Phone: 202-663-3956 Fax: 202-663-1289
Email: howardam@state.gov

Lecture Topics:
Ira Katznelson
Ruggles Professor of Political Science and History
Department of Political Science, Columbia University
420 West 118th Street, mail code 3320
New York, NY 10027
Tel: 212-854-3646 Fax: 212-222-0598
Email: iik1@columbia.edu

Lecture Topics:
Melissa R. Klapper
Professor of History, Rowan University
Book Review Editor, American Jewish History
Department of History
Rowan University
201 Mullica Hill Road
Glassboro, NJ 08028
Phone: (856) 256-4500 x3982
Email: klapper@rowan.edu

Lecture Topics:
Hannah Kliger
Professor of Communication and Jewish Studies
The Pennsylvania State University:
The Abington College
1600 Woodland Road
Abington, PA 19001
Phone: 215-881-7598 Fax: 215-881-7333
Email: hkp1@psu.edu

Primary Topics:
Rebecca Kobrin
Knapp Assistant Professor of American Jewish History
Department of History, Columbia University, Fayerweather Hall
1180 Amsterdam Ave
MC 3345
New York, NY 10027
Email: rk2351@columbia.edu

Lecture Topics:
Daniel Kotzin
Associate Professor, Medaille College
Social Science Department
Medaille College
18 Agassiz Circle
Buffalo, NY 14214
Tel: 716-880-2318 Fax: 716-884-0291
Email: Daniel.P.Kotzin@medaille.edu

Lecture Topics:
Alan M. Kraut
University Professor & Professor of History
Department of History
143 Battelle Memorial Hall
American University
4400 Massachusetts Avenue, NW
Washington, D.C. 20016
Tel: (o) 202-885-2410 (h) 202-333-0680
Email: akraut@american.edu

Lecture Topics:
Gail Levin
Distinguished Professor, The Graduate Center and Baruch College, The City University of New York
Box B7-235, Baruch College, CUNY
1 Bernard Baruch Way
New York, NY 10010
Phone: 646-312-4062 Fax: 646-312-4051
Email: glevin@gc.cuny.edu

Lecture Topics:
Rhoda G. Lewin
Independent Scholar
3191 No. Brittlebush Lane
Tucson, AZ 85712-1363 (Oct. 15 - March 20)
Phone: 520-795-8522 Fax: 520-795-8525
Email: trlewin@aol.com
or
1200 Nicollet Mall, #201
Minneapolis, MN 55403-2410 (March 20 - Oct. 15)
Phone: 612-332-3400 Fax: 612-332-2500
Email: trlewin@aol.com

Primary Topics: Other Topics:
Maud S. Mandel
Associate Professor, Brown University
Program in Judaic Studies
Box 1826
Brown University
Providence, RI 02912
Tel: 401-863-3915 Fax: 401-863-3938
Email: Maud_Mandel@brown.edu

Lecture Topics:
Howard Markel
George E. Wantz Distinguished Professor of the History of Medicine
Director, Center for the History of Medicine
The University of Michigan
102 Observatory
Ann Arbor, MI 48109
Phone: 734-647-6914
Email: howard@umich.edu

Lecture Topics:
Keren R. McGinity
Research Associate, Hadassah-Brandeis Institute
Brandeis University MS079
415 South Street
Waltham, MA 02454
Phone: 617-407-6925
Email: kerenm@brandeis.edu
Website: www.loveandtradition.com

Lecture Topics:
Rafael Medoff
Founding Director, The David S. Wyman Institute for Holocaust Studies
1200 G Street NW - Suite 800
Washington, DC 20005
Phone: (202) 434-8994
Email: rafaelmedoff@aol.com

Lecture Topics:
Ted Merwin
Associate Professor of Religion and Judaic Studies
Director of the Asbell Center for Jewish Life
Dickinson College
East College 203-B
Carlisle, PA 17013
Phone: 717-245-1636 Fax: 717-254-8954
Email: merwin@dickinson.edu

Primary Topics:
Deborah Dash Moore
Frederick G. L. Huetwell Professor of History and Judaic Studies and Director of the Jean and Samuel Frankel Center for Judaic Studies
University of Michigan
2111 Thayer Bldg., Judaic Studies
202 S. Thayer Street
Ann Arbor, MI 48104-1608
Phone: 734-647-7862 Fax: 734-936-2186
Email: ddmoore@umich.edu

Primary Topics:
Other Topics:
Andrea Most
Associate Professor of American Literature and Jewish Studies,
Department of English
University of Toronto
170 St. George Street, 6th floor
Toronto, Ontario
M5R 2M8 Canada
Phone: 416-946-0828
Email: andrea.most@utoronto.ca

Primary Topics:
Other Topics:
Pamela S. Nadell
Patrick Clendenen Chair in Women’s and Gender History
Chair, Department of History, Director, Jewish Studies Program, American University
4400 Massachusetts Avenue, NW
Washington, DC 20016-8038
Phone: 202-885-2425 Fax: 202-885-6166
Email: pnadell@american.edu

Lecture Topics:
Monty Noam Penkower
Professor Emeritus of Jewish History
Machon Lander Graduate School of Jewish Studies
Jerusalem
Email: ympenkower@gmail.com

Lecture Topics:
Norma Fain Pratt
Independent Scholar
395 East Palm Street
Altadena, CA 91001
Phone: 626-797-4478
Email: nfpratt@earthlink.net

Primary Topics: Riv-Ellen Prell
Professor of American Studies, University of Minnesota
2700 Glenhurst Ave. S
St. Louis Park, MN 55416
Phone: 612-624-4190
Email: prell001@umn.edu

Lecture Topics:
Mark A. Raider
Professor of Modern Jewish History, University of Cincinnati
Visiting Professor of American Jewish History, Hebrew Union College-Jewish Institute of Religion
Department of History
University of Cincinnati
P.O. Box 210373
Cincinnati, OH 45221-0373
Phone: 513-556-2150 Fax: 513-556-7901
Email: raiderma@uc.edu

Lecture Topics:
Marc Lee Raphael
Nathan and Sophia Gumenick Professor of Judaic Studies
Professor of Religion
College of William and Mary
2901 29th Street, NW
Washington, DC 20008
Phone: 202-387-1512 or 626-797-4478
Email: mlraph@wm.edu

Primary Topics:
Other Topics:
Ira Robinson
Professor, Concordia University
1455 de Maisonneuve Boulevard, West
Montreal, Quebec
Canada H3G 1M8
Phone: 514-848-2424 x2074 Fax: 514-848-4541
Email: ira.robinson@sympatico.ca

Lecture Topics:
Dale Rosengarten
Curator, Jewish Heritage Collection
Robert Scott Small Library
College of Charleston
66 George Street
Charleston, SC 29424
Phone: 843-953-8028 Fax: 843-953-8019
Email: rosengartend@cofc.edu

Primary Topics:
Other Topics:
Nora L. Rubel
Assistant Professor of Religion & Classics
University of Rochester
425 Rush Rhees Library
Rochester, NY 14627
Phone: 585-275-7215
Email: nrubel@mail.rochester.edu

Lecture Topics:
Primary Topics:
Other Topics:
Jonathan D. Sarna
Joseph H. & Belle R. Braun Professor of American Jewish History
Chair, Hornstein Jewish Professional Leadership Program, Brandeis University
Chief Historian, National Museum of American Jewish History
1215 Commonwealth Avenue
West Newton, MA 02465
Phone: 781-736-2977 Fax: 781-736-2070
Email: sarna@brandeis.edu

Lecture Topics:
Shuly Rubin Schwartz
Walter and Sarah Schlesinger Dean of Graduate and Undergraduate Studies at The Jewish Theological Seminary
The Jewish Theological Seminary
3080 Broadway
New York, NY 10027
Tel: 212-678-8024
Email: ShSchwartz@jtsa.edu

Lecture Topics:
June Sochen
Professor of History and Women's Studies Emerita, Northeastern Illinois University
Northeastern Illinois University
2720 Central St. Apt. 4B
Evanston, Il. 60201
(from December through April: 1673B Spoonbill Lane, Naples, Florida 34105)
Phone: (In Illinois: 847-733-0667) (In Florida: 239-262-2720)
Email: j-sochen@neiu.edu

Primary Topics:
Daniel Soyer
Professor of History, Fordham University
History Department
Fordham University
441 East Fordham Road
Bronx, NY 10458
Phone: 718-941-3219 Fax: 718-817-4680
Email: soyer@fordham.edu

Lecture Topics:
Lauren B. Strauss
Assistant Professor of History and Judaic Studies, Adjunct
The George Washington University - Program in Judaic Studies
2142 G Street, NW
Washington, DC 20052
Phone: 202-994-2168, 202-994-2190 (general office #)
Email: lstrauss@gwu.edu

Lecture Topics:
Rabbi Lance J. Sussman
Senior Rabbi
Reform Congregation Keneseth Israel
8339 Old York Road
Elkins Park, PA 19027
Phone: 215-887-8702 Fax: 215-887-1070
Email: RabbiLJS@kenesethisrael.org

Primary Topics:
William Toll
Adjunct Professor, History Department, University of Oregon
4800 Brookwood Street
Eugene, OR 97405
Phone: 541-343-1042
Email: bill_toll@yahoo.com

Lecture Topics:
Lee Shai Weissbach
Professor of History, University of Louisville
University of Louisville
Department of History
Louisville, KY 40292
Phone: 502-852-3755 (office) Fax: 502-852-0770
Email: weissbach@louisville.edu

Lecture Topics:
Beth S. Wenger
Professor of History, University of Pennsylvania
Department of History
University of Pennsylvania
208 College Hall
Philadelphia, PA 19104-6379
Phone: 215-898-5702 Fax: 215-573-2089
Email: wenger@sas.upenn.edu

Lecture Topics:
Stephen Whitfield
Max Richter Professor of American Civilization, Brandeis University
Mailstop #005
Brandeis University
415 South Street
Waltham, MA 02454-9110
Phone: 781-862-9305 (h) Fax: 781-736-3040
Email: swhitfie@brandeis.edu

Lecture Topics:
Cornelia Wilhelm
LMU excellent Visiting Professor and LMU Liaison North America
Rutgers University
The Allen and Joan Bildner Center for the Study of Jewish Life
12 College Avenue
New Brunswick, NJ 08901
Phone: (732) 932-3575
Email: cwilhelm@rci.rutgers.edu

Primary Topics:
Other Topics: Gary Phillip Zola
Professor of the American Jewish Experience, Hebrew Union College-Jewish Institute of Religion, Cincinnati, Ohio
Executive Director, The Jacob Rader Marcus Center of the American Jewish Archives, Cincinnati, Ohio
c/o The Jacob Rader Marcus Center of the American Jewish Archives
3101 Clifton Avenue
Cincinnati, OH 45220
Phone: (513) 221-1279 Fax: (513) 221-7812
Email: DrGPZ@aol.com

Lecture Topics:
Joellyn Wallen Zollman
Lecturer, SDSU, UCSD, and San Diego Center for Jewish Culture
1815 Sunset Blvd.
San Diego, CA 92103
jwzollman@sbcglobal.net

Lecture Topics:

CONTACT

GIFT SHOPBROWSE ENTIRE GIFT SHOP >

  • NEW YORK
    Center for Jewish History

    15 West 16th St.
    New York, NY 10011
    Tel: 212-294-6160
    Fax: 212-294-6161
  • MASSACHUSETTS


    99-101 Newbury Street
    Boston, MA 02116-3062
    Tel: 617-226-1245
    Fax: 617-226-1248
This section was last updated on August 19, 2014
Copyright © 1997-2014 American Jewish Historical Society, All rights reserved
Jewish Major Leaguers 2014

JEWISH MAJOR LEAGUERS 2014 UPDATE EDITION BASEBALL CARDS

Price: $39


BUY ITEM