Emma Lazarus Award Dinner Template

Emma Lazarus Statue of Liberty Award

Simon Schama

The Board of Trustees of the American Jewish Historical Society cordially invite you to the 2014 Emma Lazarus Statue of Liberty Award to honor award-winning author and historian Simon Schama. Simon Schama is a University Professor of Art History and History at Columbia University and a Contributing Editor of the Financial Times.

He is the author of sixteen books and the writer-presenter of more than forty documentaries on art, history, and literature for BBC2. His art criticism for The New Yorker won the National Magazine Award for Criticism in 1996. His film on Bernini from The Power of Art won an Emmy in 2007 and his series A History of Britain and The American Future: A History won Broadcast Critics Guild awards. He won the NCR nonfiction prize for Citizens, National Book Critics Circle Award for Rough Crossings, the WH Smith Literary Award for Landscape and Memory. He writes on cooking and food for GQ; fashion for Harper's Bazaar; and on everything else for the FT. He curated the Government Art Collection show Travelling Light at the Whitechapel Gallery in London and has collaborated with Anslem Keifer, John Virtue, and Cecile B. Evans on contemporary art exhibitions and installations.

His latest project is The Story of the Jews, which was broadcast on television and published as a book in the UK in autumn 2013, and in the U.S. in spring 2014. The second volume of The Story of the Jews is due to be published in autumn 2014.


Previous Award Laureates

2013 Avital Sharansky
2012 Harry Ettlinger and the Monuments Men
2011 Ralph Lowenstein and Machal
2010 Seth Lipsky
2009 Kenneth J. Bialkin
2008 Sidney Lapidus
2007 George P. Shultz
2005 Honorable Edward I. Koch
2003 Mortimer B. Zuckerman

2002 Elie Wiesel
2001 Amb. Felix G. Rohatyn
2000 Sanford I. Weill
1999 Henry Kissinger
1998 Beverly Sills
1996 Aaron Feuerstein
1994 Sylvia Hassenfeld
1989 Edgar M. Bronfman
1987 Armand Hammer
1986 Abram L. Sachar

Join Us

November 17, 2014

Center for Jewish History
15 West 16th Street
New York City

Cocktail Reception

6:00 PM

Program and Seated Dinner

7:00 PM

Dietary laws observed.

Sponsorship Levels

  • $100,000Founder
  • $75,000Benefactor
  • $50,000Patron
  • $25,000Sponsor
  • $10,000Friend of AJHS


  • $1,000Individual Ticket

Purchase Sponsorships and Tickets

If you wish to contribute to AJHS or the Emma Lazarus Award without purchasing tickets, please use our Donation form.

With grateful appreciation to our Trustees whose generous support enables AJHS to continue its work


Kenneth J. Bialkin, Chairman Emeritus

Sidney Lapidus, Chairman

Paul B. Warhit, Vice Chair

Bernard J. Michael, President

Nancy T. Polevoy, Vice President

Andrew E. Lewin, Vice President

Joshua H. Landes, Vice President

Samuel R. Karetsky, Treasurer

Louise P. Rosenfeld, Assistant Treasurer

Rachel Lithgow, Executive Director

Riv-Ellen Prell, Chair, Academic Council


Stanley I. Batkin

Kenneth J. Bialkin*

Ronald C. Curhan

Deborah Dash Moore

Ruth B. Fein*

George M. Garfunkel

Michael G. Jesselson

Arnold H. Kaplan

Samuel R. Karetsky

Harvey M. Krueger

Joshua H. Landes

Sidney Lapidus*

Andrew E. Lewin

Norman Liss

Bernard J. Michael

Jeffrey Oppenheim, MD

Steven D. Oppenheim

Nancy T. Polevoy

Riv-Ellen Prell

Arnold J. Rabinor Z”L

Louise P. Rosenfeld

Bruce Slovin

Jacob Stein Z”L

Joseph S. Steinberg

Morton M. Steinberg

Rabbi Lance J. Sussman

Ronald S. Tauber

Paul B. Warhit

Justin L. Wyner*

Hedy Zankel

Laurence Zuckerman

Honorary Life Trustees

Sheldon S. Cohen

Alan M. Edelstein

Robert D. Gries

Nathan Kaplan

Dr. Arthur S. Obermayer

Sue R. Warburg

* past presidents